Outlook | Sent/Deleted Items from a Shared Mailbox

This KB Article provides the steps you should take to modify where Sent and Deleted emails are stored for Shared Mailboxes.

By default, messages that are Sent or Deleted from a Shared Mailbox in Outlook go to the Sent/Deleted Items folder of the person performing the action, not to the folders of the Shared Mailbox.  An entry needs to be added to the registry on each user’s computer in order for messages to go in the Sent Items and Deleted Items of the Shared Mailbox instead (this is unique to each user and computer so if you use multiple computers will need to do this on each machine for each user).



Sent Items
  1. Click the Windows start menu button

  2. In the Search programs and files box type 'regedit' and hit Enter

  3. If prompted enter credentials

  4. Expand HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Outlook\Preferences

    ***NOTE: For Outlook 2013, the path is 15.0 instead of 16.0: (HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Outlook\Preferences)***

  5. Right-click and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value

  6. Change the name to DelegateSentItemsStyle

  7. Change the Value to 1

  8. If Outlook is open, close and restart it

  9. Messages sent from the Shared Mailbox should now go to the Sent Items of that account instead of the Sent Items of the person who actually sent the message.


Deleted Items
  1. Click the Windows start menu button

  2. In the Search programs and files box type 'regedit' and hit Enter

  3. If prompted enter credentials

  4. Expand HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Outlook\Options

    ***NOTE: For Outlook 2013, the path is 15.0 instead of 16.0: (HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\15.0\Outlook\Options)***

  5. Right-click on General and select New > DWORD (32-bit) Value (If there is no General folder right click on Options, select New > Key, and enter General for the name)

  6. Change the name to DelegateWastebasketStyle

  7. Change the Value to 4

  8. If Outlook is open, close and restart it

  9. Messages Deleted from the Shared Mailbox should now go to the Deleted Items of that mailbox instead of the Deleted Items of the person who actually deleted the message



If you have additional questions, please contact the I.T. Helpdesk at helpdesk@fvtc.edu or 920-735-5644.



Keywords:shared,mailbox,sent,deleted,reg,registry,regedit,regkey,delegate   Doc ID:88307
Owner:Thom W.Group:Fox Valley Technical College
Created:2018-12-07 11:17 CSTUpdated:2018-12-07 12:00 CST
Sites:Fox Valley Technical College
Feedback:  0   0